05
Mar
09

19 shillings for a biscuit

I tend to avoid biscuits during the day – I have found that too many make me snore due to the increased weight they produce as an unwelcome by product.

But the other day I bought a takeaway coffee and as I walked past the adjacent kiosk at Waverley Station I rather fancied one of the apple and cinnamon cookies on display. You should always treat yourself once a day (Twin Peaks – do a google).

Quite a treat it turned out to be at 95pence or 19 shillings in real money. At what point in the past 40 odd years that I have been around did it suddenly become ok to charge somebody nearly a quid for a biscuit.

0 Responses to “19 shillings for a biscuit”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

